Tony Ryall – Chairman

BBS (Massey University) Independent Non-Executive Director
Tony Ryall

Tony was appointed as Chairman of nib nz limited in July 2016.

He took on the position after serving as an Independent Director since February 2015. Tony is also a director of Transpower New Zealand Limited, the Massey University Foundation and nib nz holdings Limited.

Tony was a member of the New Zealand parliament for 24 years. He served as a cabinet minister from 2008 until his retirement from public life in later 2014, holding positions of Minister of Health, Minister of State Services and Minister of State Owned Enterprises.

Tony was appointed a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services as a Member of Parliament in the 2015 New Year Honours.

He is currently the Head of Policy with the highly-respected commercial law firm, Simpson Grierson.

Rob Hennin – Chief Executive Officer

B.A.(University of Otago), GAICD Executive Director
Rob Hennin

Rob was appointed as a Chief Executive Officer and a Director of nib nz limited in May 2013.

Rob has more than 20 years of experience in the finance and insurance sectors. He was formerly Vice President, Consumer Products, Acquisition, Insurance (Australia & New Zealand) for American Express where he was responsible for driving American Express' growth in the payment cards, travel related services and financial services segments, with a specific focus on strengthening the company's partner network, and its premium business.

Prior to this Rob held positions as General Manager World Markets – Insurance, CEO American Express Banking Corporation in India and Country Manager and Head of International Consumer and Small Business Services (ICSS) for American Express International (New Zealand). Rob has also held senior management roles with Visa International and Unilever.

Harold Bentley – Director

MA(Hons), FCA, FCIS Independent Non-Executive Director
Harold Bentley

Harold was appointed as a Director of nib nz limited in November 2012.

He is also a Director of nib holdings limited, nib health funds limited, nib nz holdings limited and IMAN Australia Health Plans Pty Limited.

Harold has more than 20 years experience in the insurance and financial services industry with particular expertise in the transition of private companies to a listed environment.

He was formerly the Chief Financial Officer of Promina Group and an Audit Manager of PricewaterhouseCoopers, specialising in finance and insurance companies.

Hanne Janes – Director

BA (University of Auckland), LLB (Hons) (University of Auckland) Independent Non-Executive Director
Hanne Janes

Hanne was appointed as a Director of nib New Zealand on 1 November 2016.

For the past two decades Hanne has been a practicing barrister, prior to which she worked as a management consultant with Deloitte.

With close to 20 years’ specialist expertise in the healthcare sector, Hanne brings to her position on the nib New Zealand Board a thorough understanding of the national health landscape, including Government policy and funding, healthcare delivery, as well as regulatory and compliance requirements. She also has extensive experience in commercial and corporate law, together with a detailed knowledge of workplace health and safety.

Hanne was recently appointed Commercial Director to the ProCare Health Limited Board. She holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and Bachelor of Arts (Economics and Political Studies) from the University of Auckland.

Alan Clarke – Director

BSc (University of Otago), MBA (University of Otago), AMInstD Independent Non-Executive Director
Alan Clarke

Alan was appointed as Director of nib nz limited in July 2016.

Alan has more than 30 years senior management and board experience with a range of New Zealand and Australian-based health and medical companies.

He is currently the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Hellaby Holdings Ltd and its subsidiaries and associate companies.

Mark Fitzgibbon – Director

MBA(UTS), MA(MGSM), ALCA(Charles Sturt University), FAICD Executive Director
Mark Fitzgibbon

Mark was appointed as a Director of nib nz limited in November 2012.

He is currently the Chief Executive Officer and a Director of nib health funds and the Managing Director of nib holdings limited. He is also a Director of nib nz holdings limited, nib health care services Pty Ltd, nib servicing facilities Pty limited and IMAN Australian Health Plans Pty Ltd.

Mark was previously CEO of both the national and NSW peak industry bodies for licensed clubs and has held several CEO positions in local government, including General Manager of Bankstown Council between 1995 and 1999.

Mark is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and on the Board of the Newcastle Knights.

He is also a former Director of the Australian Health Services Alliance.